Cajun oven fries!

crispy Cajun oven fries

I am about to write a post that came about from a trip to Five Guys and Subway. Never in envisioning my ‘healthy cooking blog’ did I think something like this would come up. But inspiration finds you in unexpected places, I suppose.

So here we were, my boyfriend and I waiting out the thunderstorm in a (particularly awesome) tavern before a great night of baseball: the Nationals vs. Orioles at the Nats stadium in DC. I had the thought of maybe grabbing a sandwich at Subway across the street rather than paying $12 for a greasy something-or-other in the stadium. Forrest was in, although he decided to go all in at the Five Guys next door. I admitted to him that I did love their fries—way back when I ate hamburgers—so he promised to share with me all the little fries I desired, as they stuff an entire brown bag full of them. What a treat!

The fries – their cajun seasoned ones which I had never tried – were greasy but delicious, with a much more ‘homemade’ taste than any other fast food fries I’ve had. And the cajun seasoning was just meant to be with them. I knew I’d be cooking up a healthier version as soon as I got home.

And that was that. Inspiration for my next recipe came to me from a greasy burger joint outside a ballpark. Although I love cooking and eating foods that are inherently healthy (kale salads, lentil stew, etc..) there is a great satisfaction that comes from ‘healthifying’ something that’s typically not so great for you. So here are some oven baked fries, smothered in Cajun goodness, thick and tender and crispy enough to rival any fast food joint.

Nats v Orioles, photo by Forrest

crispy Cajun oven fries

Crispy Cajun Oven Fries, adapted from Divas Can Cook

  • 3 large potatoes- I used a mixture of yukon gold and sweet potatoes
  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 t chili powder
  • 1 t sea salt
  • 1 t black pepper
  • 1 t garlic powder
  • 1/2 t coconut palm sugar
  • 1 t oregano
  • ½ t cayenne
  • ½ t paprika
  • dash of turmeric
  • dash of onion powder (optional)

Preheat oven to 475 F and put a kettle of water on the stove to boil. Wash potatoes well and slice into french fry sized strips (1/3 – 1/2 in thick). Put into large bowl and cover with boiling water; let sit 5 minutes (this helps them crisp up nicely on the outside when baking). Prepare the cajun blend by combining all spices in a bowl, set aside.

Drain potatoes and dry them off thoroughly with a towel. Brush a baking pan with 2 Tbsp of oil and sprinkle pan with ⅓ of the cajun seasoning. Toss the potatoes with 1 Tbsp oil and sprinkle with cajun seasoning. Place in the pan in a single layer, cover the pan with foil and bake 5 min. Remove foil and continue baking for another 15 minutes until golden brown on the bottom. Flip potatoes and continue baking until crisp and golden, about 10-15 minutes (keep an eye on them). Remove from oven and sprinkle with the rest of the cajun seasoning, drain on paper towels, and serve hot.
crispy Cajun oven fries
crispy Cajun oven fries
Enjoy! -mich
One Comment to “Cajun oven fries!”

  1. It’s funny- whenever I find myself in an unhealthy restaurant, I often get inspired to recreate the food but with a healthy twist. So all is not lost my going ;) These are just perfect for BBQ season!

Leave a Reply

