So long sweet peach…

I’ll miss your fuzzy, sunset-hued skin. Your cheery presence in my morning bowl of muesli and yogurt. And eating you like candy.

Sweet, juicy candy, made from pure sunshine.

No matter what grocery store tries to fool me mid-January, I know no look-alike can compare to your genuine summer sunshine-ripened perfection. But that only makes you sweeter come July, when I take my first blissful bite. I’ll soon be longing for that day, I’m sure.

Before I say goodbye for now, though, let’s look at some of the tasty moments we shared this summer…..

A typical breakfast.. (homemade muesli recipe coming soon)

Golden peach soup with crab ‘ceviche’ – from Cooking Light

This was delicious, but too sweet to eat as a whole meal in my opinion. It would work better as a cute appetizer / hors d’oeuvre served in mini cups.

A breakfast or dessert-worthy Yogurt Peach Tart – from Anja’s Food 4 Thought

This one’s definitely a keeper. So simple to put together, and every ingredient is 100% nutritious! no shame eating a big slice of this for breakfast :)

Peaches & ginger cheesecake – shared on the blog recently…

And last but perhaps best, my spicy peach lassi – recipe below.

It’s been another lovely summer, peach. I’ll miss ya.

SO if you’re lucky enough to come upon any more local peaches, savor them for me while you still can. Perhaps by blending up this refreshing lassi for a healthy breakfast treat…!

Spicy peach lassiadapted from here

Lassi is a popular blended drink in India made from yogurt, spices + fresh fruit. The consistency is smooth and velvety, and to this one I added a hint of heat to wake up the taste buds for the day. Serves 1

  • 1 good-sized peach, chopped
  • ¼ cup vanilla soymilk
  • ½ cup plain greek yogurt, or kefir if you have it
  • ½ T agave nectar
  • ½ t Saigon cinnamon, plus more for sprinkling
  • 1/8 t nutmeg
  • 1/8 t ginger
  • 1/8 t cayenne pepper
  • ¼ t ground white pepper
  • pinch of sat
  • ¼ cup ice (3-4 cubes)

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until ice is completely pureed, pulsing a few time to break up chunks. Pour into a glass and make it fancy with pistachios and cinnamon :)

Enjoy! –m

4 thoughts on “So long sweet peach…

  1. Ohhhhh, sad I missed “Peachtree Rd” peaches!!! Well, I guess I had them for 1 week before I left!! These recipes are making my mouth water! We have peaches here…. but they are not the same!

Leave a Reply

