pumpkin spice and everything nice

Is there such thing as too much pumpkin spice at this time of year?

I don’t think so. But just to warn you, I may be about to go [a bit] overboard with this delicious combination…

First on the list is this spiced up pumpkin bread (above) which is originally vegan (I used a real egg however), whole grain, fat free and contains just ½ cup of sugar! It’s so moist and soft—almost scoopable—and is perfect warmed up for breakfast with a dollop of Greek yogurt. Needless to say it was devoured.

Next I tried out pumpkin beer bread, which does not contain actual pumpkin but rather pumpkin ale (aka the best kind of beer) and pie spices. I always loved when mom made beer bread at home…. so I have no idea why I’ve never tried to bake it considering how simple the recipe is!

The dry ingredients (above). I used whole wheat pastry flour and lots of cinnamon :]

Then pour the beer in and watch the bubbles take over!

Now the ultimate fall breakfast: pumpkin pie french toast. I spotted the idea here, but didn’t really feel the need to follow the recipe. Just whisk some milk, egg, pumpkin puree, vanilla and spices, dip your bread and throw it on the skillet! Then of course drown in maple syrup :]

…or slice into french toast sticks for a fork-free meal! (and yes I know that looks like a pork chop.)

In case that isn’t enough pumpkin to make you sick, I’ve also been concocting pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin-cream cheese spread for apple slices or toast, and my favorite pumpkin spiced granola which I’m going to save for a later post :]

And finally if you’re feeling super festive, try spreading your pumpkin beer bread with pumpkin spiced cream cheese while sipping a pumpkin spice latte. Yeah, I did that.

Enjoy the season!

mich

4 thoughts on “pumpkin spice and everything nice

Leave a Reply

