healthy comfort meals for fall

This fall weather has me craving warm, comforting dishes, as you saw when I posted this kale sautรฉ. Trying out new dishes only has me craving more, so I wanted to share a few ideas Iโ€™ve tried for quick, warm meals. I made polenta for the first time about a week ago and have fallen in love. It’s so comforting and tastes great with everything! Just add some cooked veggies or top with stew or chili for a wonderful cozy meal…..

The basic polenta recipe Iโ€™ve been using and find to work well is this:

ยฝ cup polenta / yellow corn grits

2 cups vegetable broth

ยผ t salt

1 T olive oil

Bring vegetable broth and salt to a boil in a pot. Add oil. Lower heat to simmer. Add the polenta in a slow steady stream, stirring constantly with a whisk. Whisk for about 5 minutes, until polenta is thickened. Keeping heat low, cover and let cook for 20 more minutes or so, stirring occasionally.

*I halved the recipe I found, so feel free to use 1 cup polenta and double the other ingredients for a larger batch.

Now youโ€™ve got soft, creamy polenta to use as a base for anything! The vegetable broth is definitely what makes it so flavorful. I have yet to let the polenta firm up and bake or sautรฉ it, but I can imagine itโ€™s just as yummy.

Here (above) I had a hearty brunch of polenta, eggs scrambled with peppers, onions and kale, pico de gallo and feta cheese. I know itโ€™s hard to see the polenta with all the yummy stuff on top!

And here I made a super simple lentil chili which I served over leftover polenta. I used this WholeFoods recipe for the chili and added some leafy kale.

I also decided to try this warm lentil salad with apple & veggie sausage. I do miss my fresh salads in the winter so this was the best of both worlds—warm lentils + sausage and crisp raw greens! Delish and super comforting.

Do you have any favorite comfort food recipes for the colder months? I’d love to try them out!

mich

2 Trackbacks to “healthy comfort meals for fall”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 141 other followers

