fall sauté

I’ve been eating this all week.

Or maybe every meal of every day of this week would be more accurate. Any way these ingredients come together—whether as a raw salad, a veggie-egg scramble, or a warm sauté served on a bed of quinoa—they make for a comforting, filling, and most importantly, healthy meal.

Let me explain to you how this goes: I chopped up a big bunch of kale with some onion, sweet peppers and carrots, and kept it in a bowl in the fridge. For breakfast I’d make an egg scramble with the veggies and beans, and top it with salsa. For lunch I’d have a big hearty kale salad with either more beans or shredded chicken, drenched in this lemon-tahini dressing. And for dinner I’d sauté the mixture in chicken broth with garlic, sliced apple and white beans, served on a bed of quinoa or brown rice and drizzled with more tahini sauce.

A pretty versatile meal, huh? The combination of textures and flavors makes it deliciously satisfying, and the protein and fiber make it filling. And I don’t think anything makes me feel healthier than eating a big bowl of kale. It’s a win-win-win-win.

All this was inspired by a salad my sister Tara made this summer with kale from mom’s garden…. the very moment I fell in love with kale. I knew I had liked it cooked, in soups and such, but I’d never tried it raw! I imagined it being tough and more bitter or pungent than other greens—which is exactly what I love about it. No it wasn’t my typical spring mix salad, but it was earthy and hearty and filling. Tara’s salad was pretty basic if I remember: a mixture of chopped kale, peppers, white beans, maybe onions, olive oil and lemon juice and a crank of black peppercorns.

So I found myself at the market with a big bunch of kale, remembering and wanting to recreate this delicious salad. And then it got cold….. therefore this warm sauté was born, accompanied by a mixture of brown rice and quinoa and a lemon-tahini dressing I’d been wanting to try.

So. Here I am today, just home from the market where I stocked up on more kale, and still enjoying every bite of this healthy, hearty meal in its various forms.

That is the story of my week.

for the sauté:

First make this sauce. You’ll need tahini, garlic cloves, lemon juice, nutritional yeast, olive oil, salt, pepper and water. I found it best after it had thickened up a bit in the fridge.

Heat a skillet over medium heat and add either a little chicken broth, vegetable broth or oil. Add some chopped garlic, chopped onion, chopped peppers and thinly sliced carrot. Sauté a minute and add sliced apple. Cook until crisp-tender, then add heaps and heaps of chopped kale. Sauté until kale is cooked and no broth remains in pan. While cooking, add some white beans or shredded chicken to the pan if using. Serve on or alongside a bed of brown rice or quinoa (I had a mixture) and drizzle generously with lemon-tahini dressing and an extra squeeze of lemon.

This will definitely be my go-to dinner during the colder months! So warming and comforting, decadent, filling and HEALTHY :]

mich

One Trackback to “fall sauté”

Leave a Reply

