banana chapatis

Bananas find their way into my diet every day, although I can’t remember the last time I’ve actually peeled and eaten one. Such an abundant, cheap and versatile ingredient—they can be used to sweeten and lend subtle flavor to breads and smoothies, pureed to replace fats in baked goods, even grilled or roasted into caramelized sweet goodness.

I actually get anxious when I wake up in the morning and walk into a banana-less kitchen. Whatever I’m going to eat that day, I know it’ll somehow involve nanas. Someday [soon] I’ll post a list of my infinite banana ideas and creations.

I even have a pinboard on Pinterest dedicated to banana recipes, which I am rapidly working my way through. One of those pins had been catching my eye lately: sweet banana flat breads or chapatis. Chapatis are a type of Indian whole-grain flatbread cooked on a griddle– thinner than a pancake but thicker than a crepe, bubbly with big air pockets, and they typically accompany spicy Indian dishes. But with the subtle sweetness of mashed bananas I found these perfect for breakfast, spread lightly with butter and drizzled with honey and cinnamon.

Chapatis are SO simple to make, considering that the basic ones are solely whole wheat flour and water. That leaves the spices and other additions up to your imagination ;]

sweet banana chapatis, from here

1 cup whole wheat flour, plus extra for dusting

½ cup mashed banana

1 T olive or canola oil

salt to taste

water or milk as needed

Mash banana well and combine with flour and a pinch of salt to make a stiff dough. Add oil and water/milk as needed and knead well to form a smooth, medium-soft dough. After dough is smooth, cover and set aside for 10-15 minutes to rest.

Divide dough into 1-1/2 inches pieces and roll each into a small ball. Either dust the balls with flour or sprinkle flour onto a flat surface to prevent sticking. (I later read that you shouldn’t incorporate too much extra flour into the chapatis or they will be tough, which I think is what happened with mine). Roll each ball out with a rolling pin until it resembles a thin pancake (about 1/6” thick).

Heat a griddle over medium-high heat. When hot lightly grease with oil and place a chapatti in the center. Turn it over with a spatula when small brown spots and small bubbles appear, about 1 minute. Continue cooking about 2 minutes until both sides have brown spots. Makes 8-9 chapatis.

Enjoy your flatbread warm with some butter and honey or jam!

Next up in my kitchen: sweet potato chapatis with pureed sweet potato and the sweet potato flour mom sent me!

mich

2 thoughts on “banana chapatis

Leave a Reply

