Peanut flour + whole wheat pancakes

I’m big on breakfast. This is only as of a year ago, when I was on Semester At Sea and if I didn’t get up and eat by 830, I was stuck in cranky hunger mode until noon. But before that I avoided breakfast, at most eating an apple or peach because I was never that hungry anyway.

After getting in the habit of breakfast, I can’t go without it. I never realized the energy I was missing out on to jump start my day, and that it left me choosing a more reasonable-sized lunch. My favorite thing about breakfast, though, is that you can choose to eat sweet or savory (or both!) depending on your mood. When else do you have that choice for a meal? I certainly don’t look too normal having blueberry scones for dinner, no matter how “healthified” they may be.

I try to make time to sit and enjoy my breakfast with a cup of coffee or tea. It always makes for a happy start to my day. My all-time favorite on-the-go breakfast is a brown rice cake [plain, salted or lightly sweetened] topped with honey-almond butter or Better n’ Peanut Butter, a layer or sliced banana and a generous sprinkle of cinnamon. It wins every time. Quick and simple to make, easy to eat while walking, a bit salty, a bit sweet, and perfectly satisfying.

Oatmeal follows close behind as my favorite [especially during the winter months] because of the endless flavor combinations and add-ins, but more on that in a later post.

When I have a bit more time for breakfast-creating, pancakes are a popular choice. My recent discovery and obsession with peanut flour led me to try these peanut flour + whole wheat pancakes.

A little on peanut flour: it’s made from ground peanuts that have a good amount of the fat removed. It’s gluten-free, protein-packed, and has a mild peanuty flavor. If you want to make a lower fat peanut butter out of it, combine 2 T flour with 1 T water or milk [I like vanilla soy] and a little salt and honey to bring out the flavor.

All I have to say about these hot cakes is this: they smell and taste like freshly baked peanut butter cookies, and are healthier than I ever though possible for pancakes.

Peanut flour + whole wheat pancakes, adapted from Espresso and Cream

3/4 cup peanut flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

1 T date sugar (or brown sugar)

1 egg or 3 T egg whites

1 cup vanilla soy milk

maple syrup, butter, yogurt, berries, or more peanut butter for serving!

Stir together the peanut flour and whole wheat flour, breaking up any of the lumps. Add in the baking soda and stir until well combined. Add in the remaining ingredients and stir until just combined.

Heat a non-stick skillet over medium heat. Spoon pancake batter by the quarter cup onto hot skillet and cook, 2 to 3 minutes per side. Cakes will be super thick and fluffy :]

Serve with maple syrup, yogurt and berries as desired.

Happy breakfast!

mich

Leave a Reply

