There’s just something about blueberries and cornmeal..

To me it seems a random combination, but it just works. And I had to come back for more. Having a half-empty (or half-full) pan of my blueberry cornmeal coffee cake that I’ve been nibbling on the past few days was not enough. No, I had to make pancakes! Blueberry cornmeal cakes, which I stumbled across on this blog, Scaling Back. Mmmm, those pictures just got me.

These guys were good. So light and fluffy, crisp and buttery on the outside… oh my goodness. Very glad I ignored the fact that I still have a blueberry-cornmeal baked good sitting on my countertop waiting to be eaten..

Blueberry Corn Cakes. makes about 6

1/3 cup all purpose flour (or try whole wheat pastry flour)

1/3 cup fine stone-ground cornmeal

1-2 t coconut palm sugar

¾ t baking powder

¾ t baking soda

1/2 t salt

½ cup buttermilk (or ½ T lemon juice and enough milk to make ½ cup)

2 T egg whites (or the white of one egg), beaten

½ cup blueberries

olive oil for the griddle

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

The original recipe calls for beating the egg whites in a stand mixer until firm peaks form, but I just whisked mine until they were foamy, because I’m lazy :]

Add buttermilk to the dry ingredients and stir gently with a wooden spoon until evenly moistened; there will still be some lumps.

Fold in the beaten egg white and then the blueberries (if using frozen berries you might want to sprinkle the berries over the batter once you start cooking them to avoid turning your batter bright blue).

Heat about a tablespoon of olive oil in a cast-iron skillet until hot, spoon 1/4 cup of the batter for each pancake.  Cook over moderate heat until browned on the bottom and bubbles appear on the surface, 2-3 minutes.  Flip and cook until browned on the second side, about 2 minutes longer.

You can keep the pancakes warm in a low oven while you continue with the remaining oil and batter.

I’m not the biggest maple syrup fan, so I ate some bites with a little butter spread and others with Greek yogurt and more berries!

You can also freeze leftover pancakes for a quick and easy breakfast, or save the batter in the fridge to use up in a few days.

Yum.

What a mess. a delicious mess.And that was that.

-micha

Leave a Reply

