wholesome cookie dough bites

wholesome cookie dough bites

It’s been two weeks since I’ve been home in the US and I already miss making treats. Cookies, bars, cakes, granola, cobblers… there was always something to be concocted and it was a breeze, or should I say piece of cake ;) in our—thanks to my lovely mother—well-stocked pantry and well-equipped kitchen. How I took that all for granted! Whipping up a batch of after dinner peanut butter cookies isn’t quite as simple when my current pantry has zero ingredients, and my kitchen not a spatula, mixing bowl nor cookie sheet. I know, poor poor me… :)

Yes, I could easily buy all these things. But that doesn’t make much sense seeing as I’ll be living here in Australia only 4 short months and kitchen utensils aren’t exactly what I want to fill up my bags on the flight home. Thank goodness in the weeks before I moved across the world I perfected this lovely recipe for cookie dough bites. They require no baking and ingredients can be changed up according to what you have on hand, as long as you keep the wet to dry ratio about the same. They work great as a pre or post workout snack or as a sweet anytime treat to satisfy that unrelenting sweet tooth of mine. And, they’re wholesome, healthy and filling, so you won’t need more than one (maybe two :).

wholesome cookie dough bites

wholesome cookie dough bites

adapted from the nourishing home

  • 1/2 cup raw almond butter (or peanut, cashew, etc)**
  • 1/4 cup raw honey
  • 1 T almond milk
  • 1/2 t vanilla extract
  • 2 T coconut flour
  • 2 T whole wheat flour
  • 2 T oat bran
  • 2 T ground flaxseed
  • 1/4 t sea salt
  • 3 T fruit juice-sweetened dried cranberries (or currants, blueberries, etc)
  • 3 T dark chocolate or carob chips

Mix wet ingredients in bowl until creamy and well blended. Mix dry ingredients in separate bowl, then add to wet and use hands to knead to thoroughly combine. Fold in cranberries + chocolate chips. Scoop out tablespoon-size portions and roll into one-inch balls using your hands to create a bite-sized treat :) Refrigerate or freeze.

**Note: I like Wild Friends sesame cranberry peanut butter – simply dried cranberries and sesame seeds stirred into natural peanut butter – because it adds some extra crunch and fruitiness.

I just made these in my new apartment using quick oats in place of all the dry ingredients (coconut + wheat flour, oat bran and flaxseed) and they turned out just as great. Probably not as nutritious as my original version, but my sweet tooth says this will do just fine :)

Enjoy!

-mich

wholesome cookie dough bites

5 Comments to “wholesome cookie dough bites”

  1. These are adorable and they look soo appetising!

  2. Thanks for the shout out! I’m so glad this recipe inspired you to create your own healthy version! Blessings to you, Kelly at The Nourishing Home

  3. looks so great, I need to try those!

  4. what a pretty photo. so glad my recipe inspired you! thanks for the shout out! blessings, Kelly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

