light & quick hazelnut currant scones

hazelnut currant scones

fiery fall foliage

Bring me to a pastry shop, and scones are just about the only thing that’ll get my attention. I’m not one to fall for those buttery, flaky filled croissants or tarts or really anything with a pie-like crust. But scones are in their own wonderful category of pastry. They’re like big fluffy cookie-biscuits, and I love everything about that.

Even with my love for scones, I never seem to justify buying one, knowing how butter and cream and sugar laden they are. Sounds great for a treat, but not quite the nutritious breakfast I’m going for.

I was inspired to experiment myself by way of a scone recipe on a bag of hazelnut flour. First of all, anything made with hazelnut flour is going to be divine, right? Not to mention there will also be currants, and together this goodness will be baked into scones? Gotta try it.

So the original recipe called for heavy cream. I was skeptical to outright disobey… but I did. In went the almond milk, and out of the oven and into my life entered these scones: moist, biscuity, nutty, and bursting with sweet little currants. Nutrition-wise, they’re lighter and healthier [than your traditional scones] with the use of almond milk instead of heavy cream or butter, whole wheat flour, just a tablespoon of coconut sugar, and hazelnut meal for a good dose of healthy fat, fiber and protein. If that’s not convincing enough, they’re mess-free and super quick to make, even for someone as slow in the kitchen as myself.

I’d say that’s a win.

hazelnut currant scones

light + quick hazelnut currant scones, adapted from Bob’s Red Mill

vegan + refined sugar free 

  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup hazelnut flour [look for Bob’s Red Mill in any health food section/store]
  • 1 T coconut palm sugar
  • ½ t sea salt
  • ¼ t allspice
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1 cup almond milk, chilled (I use just shy of a full cup, so the dough is not too wet & sticky)
  • ½ cup dried currants

Preheat oven to 425. Use an ungreased baking sheet & parchment paper. In a medium bowl combine flour, hazelnut flour, coconut sugar, salt, allspice and baking powder. Add currants. Gently fold in the almond milk. Place dough on parchment-lined baking sheet and place another piece of parchment paper over the top. Gently roll into 1/2″ thick round, remove top paper. Using a pizza cutter, slice into 8 wedges. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until beginning to turn golden brown. Take out of oven, slice wedges again and separate them on the baking sheet. Put back in the oven for 2-3 minutes so the edges have time to crisp up. Let cool 5 minutes on baking sheet and serve warm!

* These also freeze well for quick, on-the-go breakfasts :)

hazelnut currant scones in the making

hazelnut currant scones

hazelnut currant scones

I<3autumn

I hope you’re all enjoying the fall colors and weather! My favorite way to stay cozy on these cool mornings? With some tea or coffee and homemade scones, which I can now happily enjoy guilt free :)

Do you have any healthier scone recipes? I’d love to try some others!

-mich

* This recipe is also shared on Wellness Weekend & Healthy Vegan Fridays*

7 Responses to “light & quick hazelnut currant scones”

  1. Gorgeous photos esp the last one. But love the close ups of the scones too. Gotta try those!

  2. This looks like a winning recipe and I so miss scones on my plant based diet. I have never seen hazelnut flour but I hope Whole Foods carries it. Have a great weekend!

  3. Bookmarking this recipe to try soon!

  4. Quick AND delicious? I’m IN! <3 Can't wait to give these a try this weekend. Perfect for Saturday brunch.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 128 other followers

