How to love cilantro

I have to confess. growing up I always affiliated with the anti-cilantro party, much to my mother’s disapproval. It wasn’t my fault, I was told, as some people are just born with the cilantro-tastes-like-soap gene.

But then one mysterious day about two years ago, my taste buds did a 180. I didn’t gag when a cilantro leaf made its way across my tongue. It was an unfamiliar flavor, for sure, but… did I like it?

Turns out from then on I was a convert, my ideals finally aligned with my mother’s, and she could wholeheartedly love me once again. A happily ever after for me and cilantro, but I still owe it to him to make up for all those lost years. So here’s what I do:

1. Attempt to grow it, and if the squirrels dig through your pot to steal every last seed (really, squirrels?), then resort to the grocery store or farmer’s market.

2. Make this cilantro-lime pesto.

3. Put it on everything.

..maybe not desserts though.

4. Mix it into Greek yogurt with some cayenne or hot sauce to make an awesome dip for fried plantains or sweet potato fries!

5. Slather it on pizza dough and top with grilled shrimp, mozzarella, and more cilantro leaves, like so. This is what I have planned for our next rendezvous.

I think I’ve done a pretty nice job embracing my long-neglected herb. Any suggestions for me? How do you spend your time with cilantro? If you happen to be one of the “haters,” I suggest trying this pesto. Studies say that crushing the leaves can rid of the soap aroma and lend a more mild taste. Then take it slow, one tastebud at a time, and develop your relationship from there. Love is patient, Love is kind.

Cilantro-lime pesto, adapted from here

  • 1 cup fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1/2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 T almond meal/ground almonds
  • 2 T chopped, fresh garlic
  • 1 T lime juice
  • 2 T nutritional yeast (if you’d rather, use parmesan, Romano or asiago cheese)
  • 1/4 t kosher salt
  • 3 T vegetable (or chicken) broth

Using a blender, mix together the cilantro, olive oil, almond meal, garlic, lime juice, nutritional yeast, salt and broth on low speed for 2 minutes. To make a thicker dip or spread, blend in more almond meal and/or cilantro; to make a thinner sauce, add more broth. Keeps in a jar in the fridge for a pretty long while.

Enjoy! -mich

This post is linked to Wellness Weekends and Foodie Friday

8 Responses to “How to love cilantro”

  1. Cilantro is awesome! I love adding it to hummus, but the pesto is a great idea!

  2. Yum! I love the little drip in the bottom corner of the last photo :)

  3. Same here! I used to hate it, now love it & make a similar pesto. I use it on all Mexican food–but I love the idea of spicing it up in a Greek yogurt dip!

  4. Welcome back to the family. Love, mom

  5. Awesome recipe- have a similar one on my site that turns even the biggest cilantro hatahs into lovers. That’s what we are all about- SUCH an important herb for detoxing. Thanks for sharing your take!

  6. I also have the cilantro curse but love Mexican and Vietnamese foods too much to not eat it. But I would love even more if it actually tasted good to me, so thx for the pesto tip!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

