chili-chocolate-bean cookies

I don’t know why I’m still surprised when I bake a dessert with beans… and it comes out amazing. I mean I already showed you my success with the beet-bean brownies and the deep dish cookie pie, but somehow the concept never fails to fascinate me. Beans?! Not only are they what I often consume for protein in my meals—being low in fat and super high in fiber—but they can be used to replace a majority of the flour and butter in baked goods! I think what gets me most, though, is that they’re not simply a healthy substitution; beans make things like cookies and brownies so incredibly rich and fudgey and moist. I may never bake without beans again!

….I just won’t tell people this until after they taste my goodies :]

These rich chocolate cookies remind me of these double chocolate fudge cookies my mom used to make from a mix when we were kids. Everyone looved them, especially straight from the oven, all warm and full of gooey chocolate chunks. These bring me back to that same eye-rolling indulgent taste of fudgey bliss, but with a grown-up twist of spicy chiles, cinnamon, tart dried cherries… and of course our healthy little secret ;]

I also gave each cookie a generous sprinkle of coarse sea salt, which really brings out the richness and leaves you craving more sweet after each bite.

chili-chocolate-bean cookies, from My New Roots

  • 1 ½ cups black beans, or one 15 oz. can
  • 2 T coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup organic cocoa powder
  • 1/4 t coarse sea salt, plus more for sprinkling
  • 1/4 t cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 t cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup, honey or agave
  • 2 eggs or 6 T egg whites
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup chopped bittersweet chocolate, or chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup chopped dried cherries
Preheat oven to 375°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Place drained and well-rinsed beans, coconut oil, cocoa, salt, cinnamon and cayenne in a food processor/blender and blend until well combined. Add maple syrup and eggs and pulse to incorporate. The batter will be quite liquidy, but still hold together.  Remove blade from the food processor and add chopped chocolate and cherries. Fold to incorporate.
Spoon cookie batter onto lined baking sheet. Using the back of the spoon, flatten top of cookies slightly, as they will not spread when baking. Sprinkle with coarse sea salt (just try it!). Bake for 15-20 minutes until tops are cracked and edges are browning. Cool and eat. Store in the fridge, warm up to serve.

Enjoy! -mich

This post is linked to: Real Food WednesdaysSweet Treats ThursdaySweets for a Saturday, & Sugar Free Sunday

7 Responses to “chili-chocolate-bean cookies”

  1. I love finding ways of incorporating unusual ingredients like beans and vegetables (like your beet brownies) into desserts! Your version of these cookies look great!

  2. Sounds really interesting! I might have to try it.

  3. Oh, YUM! I can’t say I’ve baked with beans before but this recipe is making me want to buy a can of black beans asap!

  4. Love those crackly tops. I think this needs to be my next cookie!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

